Death, conflict, betrayal, but also love…

Everyday life in the 14th century!

Hello, I’m Carolyn Hughes and I love writing about the Middle Ages!

Danse_macabre_by_Michael_WolgemutMy current series of historical novels, THE MEONBRIDGE CHRONICLES, tells stories about the people of a fictional English village in the years immediately after the Black Death ravaged England (as well as Asia and Europe)…

You can read more about the three published CHRONICLES on the Books page.

In my Blog, I write (mostly) about the background to my novels and the history of the Meon Valley, in southern Hampshire, where the Chronicles are set. You can also find out more about me and my writing.


Do you love historical fiction, especially when it’s medieval?

Why not join “Team Meonbridge”?




I’ll send you updates on my books, and every so often ask for your help or feedback.

You can join here and claim these two FREE Meonbridge novellas.


I’d be delighted to add you to my list of followers!

Privacy policy


© Carolyn Hughes

Riverdown Books is a trading name of Carolyn Hughes
of Soberton, Hampshire SO32 3QG, England